No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• adapter trimming - help

Hello all,

I am a newbie to NGS analysis. I recently got raw sequenced data (Illumina) for yeast.
    Read length is 104 bps. I have average knowledge in R. I used ShortRead package for initial processing of reads. However I have some doubts/queries regarding adapter trimming. I searched many threads here and came to know about lot of trimming tools including these. According to many Trimmomatic found to be the best. Now I want to use this tool on my data. But this tool requires a fasta file (The Adapter Fasta) containing adapter sequence. Now,

1. How to know the adapter sequence??
    2. My data is paired end reads, in this case how do I proceed??

How do I create this file?

I know my questions are too lame/simple for this forum and I am extremely sorry for such noob questions.

Help me.

Thank you.

In the best case scenario, the people doing the sequencing experiment will inform you about the sequence of the adapters used during the experiment. However this is not always the case. What you can do if you do not have any information about the adapter sequence is to run a program like FastQC (http://www.bioinformatics.babraham.a...ojects/fastqc/) which will search your fastq files for a number of commonly used adapters. If your sequencing experiment was performed according to some standard protocol then the adapter sequence might very well be included in FastQC's list and if there is substantial adapter contamination in your data then this will be seen in the program report.

Comment

Hello Sir,

Thank you for the reply. I randomly extracted 1000 reads (fastq) and ran Fastqc on it.
      fastqc reported kmer contamination as fail and gave around 200> 5bp sequences.
      What do I do now?? Do I have consider all of them as adapter sequnence.

And my data has come with this file barcodes.txt

Control_1_1 CACTGT
      Control_1_2 ATTCCG
      Control_1_3 GCTACC