SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Illumina/Solexa



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NO yield after purification using Qiagen kits - Please help! Turnerac0987 Sample Prep / Library Generation 8 02-06-2017 07:30 AM
Purification of Nextera libraries for use on the MiSeq vieiraL General 5 03-27-2013 04:26 AM
gel purification vs Chromaspin columns... Coltom Illumina/Solexa 0 12-20-2012 07:20 AM
Automated AMPure Purification Anthony.287 454 Pyrosequencing 1 08-21-2012 11:59 AM
Sample purification question glassfish Illumina/Solexa 2 07-06-2011 01:10 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-20-2013, 09:14 AM   #1
fraca
Junior Member
 
Location: Neuchatel

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Default Nextera purification

Hello everybody,
I have one question about the nextera kit. If I want to use the kit to do only one or two libraries, so I don't work in plate. I can use other consumables and other kits for the purification (Agencourt AMPure XP 60 ml kit, ZymoTM Purification Kit Catalog)? Have someone try with other kits?
Thanks
fraca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 06:51 AM   #2
JPC
Senior Member
 
Location: Wales

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 114
Default

Hi, the Nextera_XT kit already has Ampure beads for the clean up, I've used this on the MiSeq with no problems.

JPC
JPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 09:32 AM   #3
kcchan
Senior Member
 
Location: USA

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 184
Default

When did Illumina start including the Ampure XP beads? I thought they only include the library normalization beads in their Nextera XT kit.
kcchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 04:33 PM   #4
RCJK
Senior Member
 
Location: Australia

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 155
Default

For small sample number with Nextera kits we use the Zymo columns instead of the plates. We still use Ampure XP beads for cleanups.
The beads in the Nextera XT kit are for normalization, not Ampure XP beads.
RCJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 11:18 PM   #5
JPC
Senior Member
 
Location: Wales

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcchan View Post
When did Illumina start including the Ampure XP beads? I thought they only include the library normalization beads in their Nextera XT kit.
I'm not sure when they were added as this is the first protocol I have used on the MiSeq

-Nextera XT Sample Preparation Guide 15031942. Pages 30/31
JPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 09:16 AM   #6
kcchan
Senior Member
 
Location: USA

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPC View Post
I'm not sure when they were added as this is the first protocol I have used on the MiSeq

-Nextera XT Sample Preparation Guide 15031942. Pages 30/31
According to that page (Part # 15031942 Rev. C Page 30), the AMPure XP beads are still supplied by User. They are not included with the kit. I believe that only the TruSeq PCR free kits include the DNA purification beads in the box.
kcchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 04:33 AM   #7
fraca
Junior Member
 
Location: Neuchatel

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks for the answers,
I will use the protocol kits, Instead of the plates version I will use the preps/columns because I have few samples to process. The buffers are the same.
fraca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2014, 03:26 PM   #8
Joltex
Junior Member
 
Location: Canada

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCJK View Post
For small sample number with Nextera kits we use the Zymo columns instead of the plates. We still use Ampure XP beads for cleanups.
The beads in the Nextera XT kit are for normalization, not Ampure XP beads.
When you use the Zymo columns instead of the plates, do you use the volumes and spin speeds specified in the Zymo column protocol (http://www.zymoresearch.com/download...35/d4003i.pdf)? Or do you stick with the Nextera protocol?
Joltex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 05:26 AM   #9
fraca
Junior Member
 
Location: Neuchatel

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Hi,
I use the volume and spin of the of the miniprep tubes, and eventually I resuspend in RBS buffer.
fraca is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO