SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can I write a bash command to blast local nt database? hyates Bioinformatics 5 03-05-2015 10:30 AM
Local variant database with web intereface for VCF polpol Bioinformatics 1 02-12-2015 11:57 AM
Problem with making blast database pico Bioinformatics 7 03-27-2013 10:48 AM
Creating local blast+ database for mouse build 37 npatel Bioinformatics 7 03-04-2013 09:02 AM
Create local BLAST database SeqClark Bioinformatics 2 03-07-2011 02:17 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-26-2016, 06:33 AM   #1
rvgill
Junior Member
 
Location: Allentown

Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 6
Default Making local Database

Hello,

I am making my own database out of fasta files and need help on how to re-format my command line when creating these databases.

makeblastdb -in test.fasta -dbtype nucl -parse_seqids -out testDB

The file type outputs that I receive currently when I run it is :
testDB.nhr
testDB.nin
testDB.nog
testDB.nsd
testDB.nsi
testDB.nsq

What I need is a .nal file to run blast from the error I am receiving. Now do I get a .nal file when I combine multiple databases? I have run blast on a few files and have a couple of folders with all of them organized into it.
How do I combine databases to get one large one with a _____.nal file type?
rvgill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2016, 07:38 AM   #2
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,813
Default

Use the blastdb_aliastool. Help available at this page.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2016, 08:05 AM   #3
maubp
Peter (Biopython etc)
 
Location: Dundee, Scotland, UK

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,541
Default

This is (almost) a duplicate of your other thread, where you have been given some help: http://seqanswers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=72083

Last edited by maubp; 10-26-2016 at 08:05 AM. Reason: clarify
maubp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2016, 08:08 AM   #4
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,813
Default

Sounds like here the question is about combining two (or more) separate databases into one alias (if that is what @rvgill meant to ask).
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2016, 08:26 AM   #5
maubp
Peter (Biopython etc)
 
Location: Dundee, Scotland, UK

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,541
Default

In which case its a near duplicate of @rvgill's third thread http://seqanswers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=72192
maubp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO