Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Introduction

I am an undergraduate student at UNLV and am taking a Bioinformatics class. We just recently had our exomes sequenced and were given the fastq file that we are required to analyze and do a final project on. I have so far aligned the file to the human_g1k_v37 genome and have the sam, bam, and vcf files.

I am now at a loss as to what to do next because I am pretty new to using Notepad C++ and linux. I have been trying tutorials online but they are still advanced to me. If anyone has any help to offer please feel free to PM me!

Thank you in advance and I look forward to speaking with you!

The sky is the limit my friend ...... depends what you would like to look at ... check out SnpEff

Comment

I would like to create a phylogenetic tree based on SNPs and compare my exome as well as my classmate's exomes with say Neanderthals.

Another idea is to identify haplogroups and compare ancestral migration.

I mainly struggle in knowing how and what to compare because the files are so large and many programs that are available to do these tasks cannot handle such large files on my computer. I have access to the supercomputer on campus but am forced to run all programs using a terminal and my coding isn't exactly great. I need something that literally walks me through the basics of doing these things, step-by-step.

I know this is asking for a lot lol

Comment

lol sorry dude( i assume you are a guy) ... all i can say is you have to learn it yourself.. no one/ or one tutorial is going to show you step by step ... mostly because it very complex and a crap load of work involved.. what type of class is this -- wish my undergrad degree had a cool project like this ??