X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HiSeq vs MiSeq read-length and quality

Hi,
    I have a very basic question.
    Why is the read highest achievable read-length of MiSeq compared to HiSeq longer although, as far as I understand, they use the same chemistry?

Second question would be, why is it usual that the second read of a paired end read has lower quality than the first one?

I am a novice in the NGS field. I searched the forum but couldn't find an answer.
    Are there any comprehensive introduction to illumina sequencing technology?
    The manuals on the illumina webpage are nice, but only give a very rough overview.

Thanks a lot.

kind regards

MiSeq - 2 x 300 bp (or 600 bp single-end, theoretically possible though you probably don't want that).
    HiSeq 2500 - Max supported read length is 2 x 250 bp in Rapid-mode.

R2 generally has lower quality as:
    a) cluster grow fatter over time and the sequencer may have trouble basecalling if a run is overloaded
    b) reagents are held at 4-6 C in sequencer but deteriorate some over length of the run

Comment

Thanks a lot, very nice explanations!

Comment

My understanding that the read lengths are limited due to DNA damage.

Firstly, incorporation chemistry/removal of the dye terminator is somewhat corrosive to the DNA - so this restricts the single end read length to roughly 300 bases, and requires the paired end turn around to regenerate the template.
        Secondly, the HiSeq uses fairly powerful lasers which also damages the DNA. The MiSeq on the other hand has LEDs, which are not as damaging.

Comment

Originally posted by bbp View Post
          My understanding that the read lengths are limited due to DNA damage.

Firstly, incorporation chemistry/removal of the dye terminator is somewhat corrosive to the DNA - so this restricts the single end read length to roughly 300 bases, and requires the paired end turn around to regenerate the template.