SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > RNA Sequencing



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GC bias colindaven SOLiD 5 08-15-2012 04:44 AM
Interpreting 5'/3' bias sidderb Bioinformatics 9 04-23-2012 08:23 AM
T4 Ligase Bias anyone1985 General 0 11-09-2011 06:18 AM
T4 Ligase Bias anyone1985 Illumina/Solexa 0 11-09-2011 06:17 AM
GC bias correction Robby Bioinformatics 0 07-18-2011 07:38 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2012, 03:58 AM   #1
numfar
Junior Member
 
Location: Sweden

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Default 3' bias

What is 3' bias exactly? I understand it is something caused by the enrichment of poly(A) mRNA using oligo(dT) primer.(or is that wrong?) How does it cause the 3' bias?
numfar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 04:03 AM   #2
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,975
Default

See this previous SeqAnswers thread: http://seqanswers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9839
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 05:19 AM   #3
numfar
Junior Member
 
Location: Sweden

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Default

The thread does not explain what 3' bias is.
numfar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 05:36 AM   #4
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,975
Default

Since polyA tails are at the 3'-end of mRNA's any method that uses polyA sequence for enrichment is likely to recover fragments from that end.

This leads to a greater chance of having sequences from the 3'-end in the resulting reads as opposed to reads that represent the 5'-end of the molecules.


Quote:
Originally Posted by numfar View Post
The thread does not explain what 3' bias is.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 05:52 AM   #5
numfar
Junior Member
 
Location: Sweden

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Default

So the mRNA has been fragmented? Is this intentionally?(if so why?)
numfar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 07:49 AM   #6
TonyBrooks
Senior Member
 
Location: London

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by numfar View Post
So the mRNA has been fragmented? Is this intentionally?(if so why?)
Next generation sequencers, specifically those used for RNA-Seq experiments, require library fragments around 3-400 bases. However, RNA needs to be of good quality (non fragmented) at the beginning for successful mRNA enrichment (or rRNA removal)

Typical RNA-Seq workflow goes a bit like this (based on Illumina TruSeq method):

Enrich mRNA (usually PolyA enrichment by Oligo dT beads x2)
Fragment mRNA to required size (usually metal ion-catalyzed base hydrolysis fragmentation)
Reverse transcribe to make double stranded cDNA
Library prep (end repair, adenylate, ligate adapters, size select, PCR enrich)
QC and Quantify library
Sequence
TonyBrooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO