No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nice p-value, bad FDR

Hi guys,

I'm very new in the field of ChIP-seq and my lab doesn't really have previous experience with it so I apologize for my lack of knowledge. My post is quite long and I organized it a bit so that you can jump to your section of interest : technical details are in point 1) and the problem is detailed in point 2)

1) I'm working on a transcription factor with no relevant target described yet so I couldn't really optimize my protocol based on qPCR. So what I've been told to do by people working in the field is to show that I'm able to IP my protein of interest and that I had a nice enrichment (more than 5x) in the amount of DNA that I recover with my antibody over the control IgG (measured with qBit). I'm fully aware that it's not optimal but I was quite in a hurry and these guys have experience in the field so it looked like my best option. We sent the sample to a facility and we got 60*10^6 reads for the immunoprecipitated DNA and the input DNA. We then sent the data to a friend of us who's bioinformatician and he returned us a file with 15 000 MACS peaks linked to +- 6000 genes. The good thing is that we have microarray for WT and KO of our transcription factor.