SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > SOLiD

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ABI SOLiD 3 available to those interested. kcacdna SOLiD 0 09-15-2009 05:18 AM
ABI SOLiD jsun529 Bioinformatics 1 08-20-2009 12:54 PM
Looking for a New Home for an ABI SOLiD LabSci33 SOLiD 0 06-24-2009 06:11 AM
Simulate ABI reads wesb SOLiD 0 12-04-2008 09:10 AM
In Sequence: ABI, Illumina, Former Lawyer Fail to Settle IP-Ownership Suit; ABI Seeks Newsbot! Illumina/Solexa 0 04-01-2008 01:14 PM

Old 10-17-2011, 04:41 AM   #1
sbrohee

Default Questions about ABI principle

Hi all,

Even if I am quite new to sequencing, my boss and I decided to initiate talks about next-gen sequencing in our university so that we could stay updated.

I am preparing a talk where I am briefly describing the three most known technologies (454, Illumina and SOLiD). While I think I got the principle of the two first approaches, I still have some questions about the SOLiD approach. On the web, I could find explanations going in every directions.

So... I decided it it would be easier to ask experts (hopefully, they have time to answer me).

Of course, if someone knows a very good website / paper explaining very clearly the SOLiD technologies, please give me the URL!

My questions :

a) At each step of the cycle, are the 16 possible oligonucleotides added or only four, then which one?
b) Which bases of the oligonucleotides are the "interesting" one? The first and the second or the fourth and the fifth?

I may have more questions ... but this is already a good start. Many many thanks to you all for your help.

Regards
sbrohee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 07:27 AM   #2
pmiguel

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrohee View Post

My questions :

a) At each step of the cycle, are the 16 possible oligonucleotides added or only four, then which one?
All 16 are added. But they are labelled systematically with 4 different fluors.