Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• WXS: High amount of duplications! Enormous file size difference in normal-tumor pair!

I wanna preface this by saying I'm relatively new to NGS analysis.

I recently received raw data from WXS (paired end 100bp reads with 100X coverage (12Gb data) with Agilent SureSelect All Human Exon V5 kit). I noticed something's really off from the getgo.

The file size between the normal and tumor pair are enormous. Read 1 and 2 fastq of the normal sample are about 7GB each, and the reads 1 and 2 from the tumor sample is about 40GB each. I've worked with exome data before, and they were usually close in size.

Anyway, I assume everything is okay, and put the raw data through the "pipeline." You know the usual, alignment, sorting, duplicate marking, indel align, mate-info fixing, Base-Recalibration, etc. Almost 45% of the reads failed the "DuplicateReadFilter"(GATK-baserecalibrator
    ), and another 45% failed the mappingQualityzero filter(GATK-baserecalibrator
    )! I have to filter out >90% of my sequence reads!

In my previous runs, I've filtered out at most ~10%.

This made me run the FastQC on the reads, I should have done in the beginning. In the sequence duplication level section, FastQC reports that 25% of the seqs will remain if deduplicated! I see double peaks in the "per sequence GC content"!

All this is new to me. I'm used to seeing yellow bars in the sequence quality section, I don't see it here for some reason.

Would someone show me the ropes?

File sizes fluctuate based on pooling of samples (if run together? or if pooled with others in different lanes?), both files are big enough in the first instance not to be too concerned, but I would mention to whoever is doing the lab work.

You should be trimming adapter and for quality prior to alignment, this is pretty standard now, see BBDukfrom BBMap which I prefer (v. fast). fastp package seems good too.