SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Ion Torrent

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Miseq - Bacterial WGS at depth of 10 fold vl80 Illumina/Solexa 4 06-25-2013 04:44 PM
Ion Torrent $1000 Genome!? Benchtop Ion Proton Sequencer aeonsim Ion Torrent 88 10-28-2012 05:50 AM
Ion Torrent Protocol? PersianExcurzion Ion Torrent 25 02-15-2012 08:39 PM
Multiplexing with ion torrent? singaporeseq Ion Torrent 3 11-30-2011 08:49 PM
ion torrent herrroaa Introductions 5 07-25-2011 06:36 AM

Old 06-25-2013, 07:20 AM   #1
roshanbernard

Default Ion torrent: bacterial WGS coverage

Hi all,

I am new to ion torrent.

We are interested in getting the bacterial whole genome sequencing( ~2MB )...

However, i am not sure what is the coverage/depth we need to use to get the good read quality and assembly.

Can anyone help me out with this

regards

rosh
roshanbernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 08:37 AM   #2
krobison

De novo or resequencing?

Probably shoot for >50X coverage minimum. Higher initial coverage will allow more aggressive trimming/filtering of reads.

I have not assembled Ion data for a while, but historically the homopolymer calling issue leads to assemblies rich in indels. Perhaps someday someone will write the equivalent of Quiver for Ion Torrent data, but that hasn't happened yet.

Quality of the assembly will also be significantly affected by GC content (expect issues in regions with extremes in GC content) and the nature of the repeats in the genome. Set your expectations appropriately; short read, short insert technologies such as Ion cannot routinely close bacterial genomes -- you need either very long reads (PacBio) or mate pairs to have good odds of doing that.
krobison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 04:47 PM   #3
roshanbernard