No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Generating unique sequence from a fasta file

Hi,

I am a computer programmer with absolutely negligible biology background working on an application framework for analyzing the human genome. Now I have access to the genome dataset from the NCB's ftp site.

I have decided to use the GRCh38 encoded sequence files for the purposes of my application. However since there are multiple overlapping sequences in these files pertaining to the individual chromosomes, I would like to extract the entire stretch with non-overlapping/unique sequences only.

I need some guidance as to how I can proceed with this.

Based on some preliminary research that I conducted, I found out that I can use the FASTX Toolkit for the tasks that I am looking to accomplish. However I am not able to understand the purpose and function of the different tools like fasta_formatter or fastx_collapser from the available documentation, due to which I am not able to identify if what I am doing is indeed correct.

This is kind of difficult... you could try a program like Minimus2, or Dedupe to get rid of redundancy, but I think it would be best to either use the whole genome, or else just use only the primary chromosomes (1-22, X, Y, M) and throw away all the little addenda and alt contigs.

Comment

Originally posted by Brian Bushnell View Post
      This is kind of difficult... you could try a program like Minimus2, or Dedupe to get rid of redundancy, but I think it would be best to either use the whole genome, or else just use only the primary chromosomes (1-22, X, Y, M) and throw away all the little addenda and alt contigs.
      Thank you for your reply. I am sorry, how can I consume the entire genome?