Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bacterial genomic DNA sample

Hi my name is Manuela and I work in the field of environmental microbiology. I need to prepare a bacterial genomic DNA sample to be sequenced by Illumina sequencing system. I need information about DNA quality, DNA concentration and DNA eluition solution. Could anyone be so kind to give me these information?

Thank you for your assistance

Manuela

Buffer = TE (or water)
    Quantity = 3ug ( you can get away with less than this if you need)
    260/280 = >1.7
    260/230 = >2

Comment

Thanks for your reply.
      Is bacterial genomic DNA integrity important for the genome sequencing?
      How can the shearing during DNA extraction affect sequencing?
      I attach a gel image of my genomic DNA samples (the marker is 1Kb Abgene ladder).
      Could you please tell me if these DNA samples can be used to safely sequence and assembly by Illumina technology?

Comment

Having intact DNA is important in order to get even shearing across the genome, and thereby more even representation of the genome in your final sequence data. If you have degradation you need to account for it in your shearing times and intensities. I dont know the size of the genome you are dealing with, but the DNA appears to relatively intact.

What is the size of genome?

How do yo intend to shear your DNA? Or are you sending this out to a core?

Comment

I have no idea about the genome size but it could be about 5000 Kb and I’m sending the genomic DNA out in a sequencing center

Comment

Your DNA looks good. It is largely intact. To estimate the amount you have, use your agarose gel or a double-strand specific assay, like pico green. RNA and even very small amounts of phenol can cause you to drastically over-estimate the amount of DNA you have if you use UV spec (nanodrop, etc.) Phenol can be ruled out if the A260/A270 is > 1.2. But RNA, degraded or not,