Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• velvet columbus reference errors

I have seen some posts about using velvet with a reference, but they have not helped me........
    I am trying to assemble a plant genome using a related species as reference. Trying to use velvet columbus, but I don't seem to be able to get the command line right.
    following the manual, using:
    velveth dir_name 31 -reference ref.fasta -sam illumina_align.sam
    this way I get: -sam file cannot contain reference sequence.
    if I try to add -short or -long in front of the -sam switch, it seems to ignore the -reference switch and I get that my "read1" (which is supposed to be the reference) is too long.
    I have removed from the sam file anything that might have something to do with the reference, but still get the same error.
    I am not good with the linux command line and I am getting the impression i am forgetting some little space, comma, slash or something.
    I used bowtie2 for the alignment of the single end read Illumina reads. Does someone know if bowtie puts the reference sequence into it's sam output anywhere? Or, since all the posts about velvet columbus I have been able to find deal with PE input, can velvet with reference only be used with PE reads?

By its nature, SAM has the alignment in it (SAM=Sequence Alignment Map).

First: Did you sort your SAM file? (will need samtools for this).

Checking the manual again, it looks like it should be:

Code:
    velveth $FOLDERNAME $KMER -reference ref.fasta -shortPaired -sam illumina_align.sam
    Can you post the first few lines of your sam file by using

Code:
    head illumina_align.sam
    Since you already have to do the alignment of your reads to the reference, have you tried looking at the alignments? Are there dips in coverage or re-arrangements, things like that?

Comment

Originally posted by sfh838t View Post
      velveth dir_name 31 -reference ref.fasta -sam illumina_align.sam