SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2012, 06:04 AM   #1
narges
Member
 
Location: Finland

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Default BitSeq input data

Hi,
I wanted to know what kind of input data I can use running BitSeq. I have the fastq files of the experiment plus the accepted hits bam file from TopHat. Are these files the acceptable input files for "getExpression" function in BitSeq and if so, associated to each bam file from Tophat I have several fastq files which are the technical replicates of that sample. Should I use all the technical fastq files when running the "getExpression" function separating with comma?

Many thanks in advance.

Last edited by narges; 11-05-2012 at 07:05 AM.
narges is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 02:53 PM   #2
peto
Junior Member
 
Location: UK

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Hi,
probably a very late answer for you, but just in case someone else stumbles across the same issue.

TopHat is designed for spliced alignment of reads against genomic sequence. BitSeq, on the other hand, is designed for use with reads aligned to transcriptomic sequence. The input reference Fasta has to be assembled transcriptome sequence* and reads should be aligned with some aligner that allows multiple alignments (e.g. Bowtie).

If you have other questions or want more information about BitSeq, it might be faster to contact us directly through official channels at Bioconductor or google code.

Regards,
Peter.

* transcriptome reference can be either acquired from ensembl or UCSC table browser
peto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bitseq

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO