No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pooling Prior to Size-Selection

Greetings everyone,

I am a graduate student making his first foray into NGS. Briefly, I am employing a ddRAD protocol to generate my first NGS dataset. I'll be using Illumina MiSeq.

I would ideally like to include ~48 individuals on a single Illumina MiSeq lane, each with a unique individual barcode/ID.

I understand that performing 48 separate size-selections would probably be ill-advised and may lead to substantial drop-out at certain loci and a loss of data.

Is it possible to anneal my Illumina adapters with unique barcodes to each of the 48 individuals separately, and then pool them in equimolar concentrations to perform a single size-selection, either with a Pippin Prep or with SPRI beads? Is this at all advisable?

Many thanks!

Pooling before size selection is the recommended workflow and one of the most important aspects of GBS in general. I would suggest to review this paper again:

http://journals.plos.org/plosone/art...l.pone.0037135

Comment

I seem to have misread the detailed protocol, which prompted this question - my apologies. Thanks for the quick reply!

Comment

Ah, now I see the source of my confusion!

I'm hoping to employ a paired barcode system so that I don't need to purchase, say, 48 individual P1 adapters, each with a unique barcode. Instead I would like to use combinations of identifiers (say, 6 x 8). This way I can buy fewer oligos (I'm on a rather tight budget).

Peterson et al. (2012) seem to employ a similar system, except the second unique identifier (referred to as an "index") is added via PCR Multiplex Primer 2. This PCR step occurs after size-selection.

This means that, in order to employ this system, I would have to potentially perform 6 different size-selections (and 6 different PCR reactions at this step).