No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to bioinformatics - Read Alignment/Mapping

Good day to you,

I am a biology b.sc. student from germany and for my graduation i am working on RNAseq data sequenced by Illumina Next Seq 500.

So far I've managed to do quality checks and trimmed adapter.

For my next step i wanted to gain skills on read alignment. But since I am really new to bioinformatical work my knowledge is scant.

Anyway, I tried STAR, HISAT2 and TopHat with a subset of my data and a reference. Before I am going to ask specific question on the softwares, I'd like to listen to your opinions and recommendations. To be honest this is very overwhelming and I hope you guys could give me a hand.

I am not sure if I may tell details on the data, because most of it is not published yet. Let's say I have Rnaseq data from different treatments of an invertebrate species with a length of 150bp (paired-end). In the end the analysis should show some differential gene expression within the different treatments.

What's the question?

HISAT replaces TopHat anyway, so no point running them both. If you want to try something different try Kallisto/sleuth or other pseudoalignment approach.

Questions not to ask 'They all give different results - why?' because this is amply answered in several years worth of literature

You will need to describe the experiment in detail, organism irrelevant - but how many samples, treatment groups, replicates etc, reads per sample etc. will help people understand what you are dealing with

Comment

Thank you for your quick response and I am sorry for not providing enough information. I will try to do from now on.

The experiment consists of 4 different treatments. Each treatment was replicated 5 times. Illumina Sequencing resulted in 25mio paired end reads per sample. In total I have 160 RNA samples (80 forward, 80 reverse).