No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DESeq help

Hello everybody
    I am new in RNAseq analysis, so I have some trouble trying to study differential gene expression. DEseq manual is really informative to work with but my question is about creating the input file. I found HT count but it needs a gff file and a SAM file with the aligned reads. If there is not a reference genome or transcriptome to download a gff file which is the way to construct it? I suppose by changing a tab delimited file from blastx but which exactly is the format for a gff as an input to HT count? Is there any automated software to annotate the constructed transcripts (output of e.g. Oases or Trinity) and create a gff?
    Thanks in advance.

It might be easier to say what you do have and then work from there. Ultimately DESeq just needs a matrix of count values for different genes and it doesn't really care where they come from, so if you have count data already you can just make a matrix out of it and start from that point in DESeq.

Comment

DE seq

Dear Simon
      Thank you very much for your reply.
      The fact is that I don't have the count data. I have the BAM files from tophat, where the reads are mapped on the contructed transcriptome from Trinity. The problem is how to produce the count table for DESeq. I tryed HTseq but I had problems on installing it (and also needs a gff). So i need the way to produce the count table for DEseq

Comment

If the reads are mapped to assembled transcripts already then your count table is simply going to be the number of hits to each different accession in the set of transcripts. You just need to collate the number of hits to each different sequence id.