No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to sequencing and analysis

Hello all!

I am new to genome sequencing and analysis. My lab recently got a bacterial genome sequenced from a company who sent us the files containing the results of the genome sequence. Now I am expected to analyse this genome. Can anybody guide thru the basic steps of sequence analysis.
    As a first step, what should do with the sequence?

In response to New2Sequencing

Hi New2Sequencing -

Please excuse me if I tell you things you already know. I figure better that way than the reverse.

The type of analysis problem that you have depends on whether or not you have a reference sequence for your bacterial sequence. If you don't, then you need to do a de novo assembly. If you do, then you will want to map your reads to that reference. There are a lot of different tools available to perform these types of analyses. Because I work for CLC bio, I am most familiar with our tools, but many other sources, commercial and free, also provide tools for de novo assembly or reference mapping. SeqAnswers has a great list of these in their Wiki. The tool that you select will also depend on the type of reads that you have, long or short, color space or base space. The technology that was used to generate your data will answer these questions for you.