No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• bwa mem - paired reads

Hi,

I'm still a fair NGS newbie & I'm trying to run bwa mem (v0.7.9a) on some 91bp paired end sequences & get the following encouraging message:

[M::main_mem] read 2197804 sequences (200000164 bp)...
    [M::mem_pestat] # candidate unique pairs for (FF, FR, RF, RR): (10, 774878, 120, 4)

Which after all the FF/FR/RF/RR checks ends with the following error:

[mem_sam_pe] paired reads have different names: "6_1101_2244_58850_1", "6_1101_2244_58850_2"

All the paired reads are generated from using process_radtags & seem like valid pairs as I look through them manually. Has anyone found a workaround for this or am I going to have to rename all of the sequences?

Thanks

Normally, read 1 and read 2 would have the same name up to the first whitespace. So you could replace the last underscore with a space.

I also have a fast program that will rename reads for you, if you want, here:
    Download BBMap for free. BBMap short read aligner, and other bioinformatic tools. This package includes BBMap, a short read aligner, as well as various other bioinformatic tools. It is written in pure Java, can run on any platform, and has no dependencies other than Java being installed (compiled for Java 6 and higher).

Just run bbrename.sh. A sample command:

bbrename.sh in1=read1.fq in2=read2.fq out1=renamed1.fq out2=renamed2.fq prefix=xxx

Then they will be renamed like this:
    xxx_1 /1
    xxx_1 /2
    xxx_2 /1
    xxx_2 /2
    ...etc

Comment

Thanks Brian. Looks like a great suite of tools. I'm sure I've done something wrong though as I can't seem to make it work. I've downloaded & unzipped into the /etc folder keeping the structure intact. However, when I try to run the following command from where the .fq files are located:

/etc/bbmap/bbrename.sh in=stacks/samples/gc2364.Lib1.1.fq in2=stacks/samples/gc2364.Lib1.2.fq out=rename/gc2364.Lib1.1.r.fq out2=rename/gc2364.Lib1.2.r.fq