SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Illumina/Solexa



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low Diversity Libraries on NextSeq nangel Illumina/Solexa 5 11-23-2015 02:10 PM
Sequencing using custom primer on MiSeq - low diversity? incognitos Illumina/Solexa 6 11-23-2015 02:03 PM
MiSeq Low Diversity - N's in primer solution esherman Illumina/Solexa 5 11-04-2014 04:12 AM
Sequencing low diversity samples on the MiSeq pmiguel Illumina/Solexa 32 04-03-2013 01:47 PM
Loss of data in low-diversity libraries can be recovered by deferred cluster calling fkrueger Bioinformatics 17 01-24-2012 05:29 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-22-2015, 01:56 PM   #1
phyllosphere
Member
 
Location: Iowa

Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 10
Default MiSeq v3 kit for high diversity vs. low diversity libraries

Like many folks working on low diversity libraries, we have been hit hard by the problems associated with the V3 kit - lots of time and effort wasted. Is this problem also common for high diversity libraries? I would appreciate any insights.
phyllosphere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2015, 06:01 AM   #2
microgirl123
Senior Member
 
Location: New England

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 197
Default

I've had problems with high-diversity (gDNA) libraries with the 600-cycle V3 kits, even with a cluster density of 1K. Read 2 just tanked after about 50 bp. We are advising people not to run them at all until Illumina sorts out whatever problem this is.
microgirl123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2015, 06:43 AM   #3
phyllosphere
Member
 
Location: Iowa

Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 10
Default

Thank you! Will it be possible to mix our MiSeq libraries with our HiSeq libraries (e.g., RNA-Seq, have not started yet) and running the mix libraries with HiSeq2500 or 3000?
phyllosphere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2015, 08:34 AM   #4
Jessica_L
Senior Member
 
Location: Washington, D.C. metro area

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 118
Default

I've run libraries on the MiSeq (usually for troubleshooting purposes) and then loaded them on a HiSeq once I was sure everything was okay with them. The loading concentrations are usually different, in my experience, but that should be the only issue you'll need to address.
Jessica_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2015, 12:29 PM   #5
phyllosphere
Member
 
Location: Iowa

Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 10
Default

Good to know-thanks!
phyllosphere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
low diversity library, miseq, problem, v3 kit

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO