No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cuffdiff Error: "cuffdiff requires at least 2 SAM files"

Hi all,
    I am new to NGS RNA analysis and am trying to analyze differential expression of genes using cuffdiff between 3 groups of cells (Heterozygous, Knock-out and wildtype).

Completed steps by our NGS core:
    1. prepare samples from FQ files to BAM files.
    2. prepared transcripts.gtf for every sample

Then, what I did:
    2. create a assemblies.txt that lists the location and assembly file (transcripts.gtf) for every sample.

3. Ran cuffmerge which created a merged.gtf file

Now, at step 4 of running CuffDiff I am getting an error called
    "Error: cuffdiff requires at least 2 SAM files"

This was my command:

cuffdiff -o diff_out -b genome.fa -p 8 -L HZ,KO,WT -u merged_asm/merged.gtf \
    ./HZ_1_unp/accepted_hits.bam,./HZ_2_unp/accepted_hits.bam,./HZ_3_unp/accepted_hits.bam\
    ./KO_1_unp/accepted_hits.bam,./KO_4_unp/accepted_hits.bam,./KO_5_unp/accepted_hits.bam\
    ./WT_1_unp/accepted_hits.bam,./WT_2_unp/accepted_hits.bam,./WT_3_unp/accepted_hits.bam,./WT_4_unp/accepted_hits.bam

Then, I receive the error. I get the feeling that it is not able to find the BAM files? It seems incorrect that cuffdiff would like to have SAM files, since according to the Article of Trapnell at all. it states " 5) Run Cuffdiff by using the merged transcriptome assembly along with the BAM files from TopHat for each replicate"

How can i make cuffdiff do it's thing after all?! Thanks!

Try adding a space in front of the last two backslashes (i.e., change "\" to " \").