No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mirroring/creating the database

Hi Group,
    I have been assigned a task to develop a genomics/Proteomics database. I am quite new to this and in the learning phase.
    I will appreciate if anybody with some experience can guide me or point me to related resources?
    Also, I want to know how can I mirror the other database?

Thanks in advance,
    Vix

Hi, I took a bioinformatics course at my school were we construct a database and populated with useful data for researchers.

The first thing you can do is design the database, I mean the tables and fields you will use and how they will be connected.

In order to create the Database:
    In first stance, you need to know what is SQL http://www.sqlcourse.com/index.html (I take the first result at google, it seems quite good )
    And also the software you will use, i.e,
    MySQL (http://www.mysql.com/)
    ORACLE(http://www.oracle.com/index.html)
    and get installed on the server or your computer, each software have pros and cons, the MySQL is one of the most popular because is free but the support cost, and ORACLE has good features like a easy sintax but it cost...

When you have build your DB, you can fill it with data using SQL syntax or connections (DBI) with other programs, i.e, perl, python, R, java, C, etc...

In the other hand, for mirroring a DB, it needed a Replication server at the same network of the database that you want to mirror, is easy, but the things you need to do depends on the software you use..

I hope the information be useful and if you have any question, just ask
    Amhed
    Last edited by Amhed; 06-28-2011, 11:12 AM.

Comment

Thanks a lot Amhed.
      Your reply is really useful to provide me with a starting point. I will get back with more doubts after starting my assignment.

~Vivek

Comment

Database size

Hi All,