No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how to become a dual biologist/bioinformatician

Hi
    I am currently a graduate student in a Genetics lab. the experiences i have had with analyzing my NGS data lead me to think I would really enjoy analyzing this type of data much more than I would continuing to do bench work after my PhD.

My question to you is how should I prepare to do this? I have already taught myself PERL and some shell scripting.

Should I take official courses, get a certificate in computer science? What are post-doc positions/ companies looking for?

Thanks.

Wow, are you me? I'm also finishing my PhD in a genetics lab, got to do some NGS analysis, taught myself Perl and Ubuntu, and want to find a post doc/job where I get to do bench work and bioinformatics analysis, about 50/50. Computers have always been a hobby but I've done very little formal training. I took one graduate level course, basically "Intro to bioinformatics", but 90% I've learned on my own.

Most job postings seem to be looking for someone to be a full time bioinformatician, but maybe that's because I'm mostly looking on bioinformatics websites. I think in a bigger lab/group, they are more likely to want a full time bioinformatician/programmer, but maybe a smaller group would want someone more versatile? That's the position my lab is currently in (don't need/can't afford to hire a full time bioinformatician), which is how I got to do it. I'm hoping that being able to take a NGS project all the way from planning to mouse/cells to analysis will be a benefit in my future job searching.

Comment

True dual lab-bioinformatics folks are a rare breed; you really need to either be very good at both of them AND pick a project which really exercises both. I've met only a few folks who truly did both well. That said, being full-time in either one is enhanced by a solid understanding in the other field.