SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > General



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Covaris vs. Biorupter ETHANol Epigenetics 7 10-26-2012 01:56 AM
Covaris/Hydroshear andibody Sample Prep / Library Generation 2 01-04-2012 05:39 AM
Covaris Maintainance JPC General 1 10-13-2011 01:19 PM
need some help..covaris and dilutions seqgirl123 Sample Prep / Library Generation 4 11-04-2010 12:10 PM
Covaris 96 well format michelle.lupton Sample Prep / Library Generation 6 07-08-2010 01:08 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2010, 11:25 AM   #1
thesmurph
Junior Member
 
Location: Rochester, MN

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Default Covaris MicroTubes - Reusable?

I have been using the Covaris sonication method to fragment my genomic DNA which works amazingly well. However the MicroTubes are very expensive ($5 each). I was wondering whether anyone has attempted to clean/reuse these Caps or could that compromise the tubes i.e. Could they become brittle with continued use?
thesmurph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 11:31 AM   #2
GW_OK
Senior Member
 
Location: Oklahoma

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 411
Default

When our Covaris was installed I specifically asked the tech if the tubes were reusable. He said it's not recommended as the tubes have shown a tendency to shatter after 2 or 3 sonications. I haven't tried it, personally. Care to be my guinea pig?
GW_OK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 11:42 AM   #3
thesmurph
Junior Member
 
Location: Rochester, MN

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Default

I expected as much.

I will slip one in next time and try it. But if we are talking about using just twice, a drop in cost $5 to $2.50 is maybe not worth the risk considering the value of the samples that go in it! Plus cleaning and sterilizing!

I have been around when an electroporation cell explodes and don't really want to be around if a sonication cap explodes! Will push RUN and do exactly that!
thesmurph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 12:06 PM   #4
GW_OK
Senior Member
 
Location: Oklahoma

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 411
Default

I doubt anything will go flying if a tube does shatter, given that it's being held in the water and there's a fair amount of coverage around it. I'm more worried about glass getting in the degas pump.
GW_OK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 01:10 PM   #5
thesmurph
Junior Member
 
Location: Rochester, MN

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Point Taken.... maybe core facilities wouldn't be that happy to have a guinea pig running around!
thesmurph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 05:11 AM   #6
NextGenSeq
Senior Member
 
Location: USA

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 482
Default

Reusing them seems like an excellent way to get contamination from either genomic DNA or amplified fragments.
NextGenSeq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 08:20 AM   #7
thesmurph
Junior Member
 
Location: Rochester, MN

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Good point. But I often need to fragment replicate samples and so was more thinking upon these lines. Hence would be fragment, remove sample, add identical sample and fragment again.

When you are talking about experimental costs over $10K saving $2.50 isn't really exciting when you could be risking your machine!
thesmurph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 01:41 PM   #8
shurjo
Senior Member
 
Location: Rockville, MD

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 126
Default

At the 10% duty cycle and 5 intensity settings I have used the 6x16mm tubes 5-6 times and they hold up okay. I have seen one case where a tube fragmented after ~15X usage and it was not a huge boom, just a pain cleaning out the reservoir. The contamination is another issue, though (I was just reusing tubes because I was standardizing something).
shurjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 01:47 PM   #9
GW_OK
Senior Member
 
Location: Oklahoma

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 411
Default

Awesome. Thanks for the info!
GW_OK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 03:51 PM   #10
ScottC
Senior Member
 
Location: Monash University, Melbourne, Australia.

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 246
Default

I've had a tube break on FIRST usage (but only one, out of the hundreds we've processed). Nothing exciting happens... they just crumble and land on the transducer. The only reason I noticed it was because the slight buzzing sound it makes changed frequency slightly.
ScottC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 07:06 AM   #11
daimosss
Junior Member
 
Location: Kiel

Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Default cleaning covaris tubes

How do you clean covaris tubes? Just with water or some detergents as well?
daimosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 01:21 PM   #12
Hamid
Senior Member
 
Location: San Diego, CA

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 105
Default

I would not advise reusing of the microTUBEs for several reasons:
1. glass has an inherent binding capacity for DNA, so contamination will be a significant risk
2. Although there is a well over a 1 in 10000 breakage rate for the microTUBEs, that breakage rate is significantly higher for reused tubes. I guess risking breakage will depend on how precious your samples are.

Thank you

hamid
Hamid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 12:59 AM   #13
NGS Lab
Junior Member
 
Location: Italy

Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Default

Hi Everyone,

I just got my Covaris machine M220 and I was wondering if I could resuese the microTUBE. As I can see I am not the one who is thinking to do that. Have you any suggestions how can I clean them without damaging them?

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Anne
NGS Lab is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO