SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cufflinks - building form source vs precompiled martin_313 RNA Sequencing 4 06-13-2012 01:30 PM
Is there bowtie source code only for linux? Jeong Bioinformatics 3 05-30-2011 11:11 AM
tophat-bowtie building index repinementer Bioinformatics 1 07-17-2010 10:53 PM
Building indexes with bowtie-build bre Bioinformatics 4 04-01-2010 08:38 AM
help in building sequences in bowtie lilithdog General 1 12-17-2009 03:17 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-23-2011, 10:48 AM   #1
ericca
Junior Member
 
Location: Berkeley

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Default Bowtie: building from source

I'm trying to get bowtie running, and the manual just says to go to the directory and type "make", but I keep getting an error message. Can somebody help me figure out what I should do? Thanks!


bowtie-0.12.7 ericca$ make
make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.
ericca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 11:11 AM   #2
ericca
Junior Member
 
Location: Berkeley

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Nevermind. I think bowtie is running fine. Now it's another problem.
ericca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 06:25 PM   #3
tonge
Junior Member
 
Location: canada

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericca View Post
I'm trying to get bowtie running, and the manual just says to go to the directory and type "make", but I keep getting an error message. Can somebody help me figure out what I should do? Thanks!


bowtie-0.12.7 ericca$ make
make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.
Hi ericca, What was the solution? I am a beginner with bowtie and have come across the same problem.

Thanks,
tonge
tonge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 06:33 PM   #4
ericca
Junior Member
 
Location: Berkeley

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Default

It was just a matter of having the files in the correct directories.
ericca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 03:33 PM   #5
newegg
Junior Member
 
Location: seattle

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Default

Hi, Ericca, I got the same message. so what file need to be in which directory? Thanks!
newegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 12:16 AM   #6
shamanhot
Junior Member
 
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Default

Hi ericca,

I am having the same problem you first had. Could you please explain the following in more detail?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericca View Post
It was just a matter of having the files in the correct directories.
I tried installing it on my local machine and server (both Linux). Both seemed to give the same error when I 'make'... I am pretty sure I am using the right version for the right distribution.

Thanks!
shamanhot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO