SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > Sample Prep / Library Generation



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rn/cycles: qPCR decided ATAC-seq library amplification zhaolin Sample Prep / Library Generation 9 08-14-2019 01:48 AM
On-Plate ATAC-seq krutipedali Sample Prep / Library Generation 2 02-28-2017 04:16 AM
ATAC-seq QC using gel Fasteno Sample Prep / Library Generation 0 03-12-2015 04:13 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2017, 08:47 AM   #1
kropak1807
Junior Member
 
Location: Tallahassee, FL

Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 6
Default Why sub-saturation qPCR in ATAC-seq but not other seq methods?

Hi everyone,

I have been asking around and nobody seems to have a sufficient answer for my question. In ATAC-seq we run a side qPCR reaction in order to determine the appropriate number of PCR cycles to amplify the library without reaching saturation. Why is this only used in ATAC-seq and not other sequencing techniques? Seems to me like it should be used in all sequencing techniques, especially those that are sensitive to PCR duplicates.

Thanks
kropak1807 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 11:59 PM   #2
nucacidhunter
Jafar Jabbari
 
Location: Melbourne

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,232
Default

I think in ATAC-seq quantity of available DNA in different experiments can be highly variable requiring experiment specific optimisation, while in other libraries such as RNA-Seq or DNA libraries input is normally fixed or is in a small range and pre-optimised PCR conditions can be used.
nucacidhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 07:26 AM   #3
NickPantelireis
Junior Member
 
Location: London

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 6
Default

I can't seem to figure out if when doing ATAC-seq you need to maintain the selected cycles the same throughout samples? For example I have 4 samples and I'm doing n=3. So do I select the number of cycles for each of the 12 samples plus replicates, do I select cycles for each sample and keep constant in replicates or do I run one qPCR and select the lowest No of cycles for all samples?
NickPantelireis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO