No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2x150 cycles vs 2x250 cycles: coverage, quality, aligning and cost issues

Hello,
    I am planning a targeted resequencing experiment using the Illumina TruSight Cancer panel, which claims an average insert size of 300bp. Illumina people recommend MiSeq 2x150 runs but, as in my sequencing service MiSeq 2x250 runs are just 8% more expensive than MiSeq 2x150 runs, I wonder if it wouldn't be worth to use MiSeq 2x250 runs. I understand that many pair reads will overlap, but I still think I will gain a considerable amount of coverage. I'd like to find medium (1-50bp) insertions and deletions and hope that longer reads will help me to align them properly. Is this correct? Are any quality differences between those chemistries that I should take into acount? Any appreciation is welcome!

I have no experience with trueSight protocols, but it seems you might get higher quality data due to the huge overlaps when following the standard procedure and using a read merger like Flash afterwards. If you modify the tagmentation reaction (more input DNA?) or do a size selection before the PCRs you should be able to actually sequence longer fragments.

Comment

Thank you Luc! If I understand correctly, you mean 2x250 cycle runs can be worth. After the pair read merging with Flash, will I be able to use merged and unmerged reads together in an aligner like BWA-MEM or so?
      Regarding to the insert sizes, I think that the TruSight oligo and tagmentation kits are matched to provide a probe distribution adapted to the fragment lenghts, so I would like to use the system "as is" first, and just trying to get the maximum coverage and the longer fragments for accurate aligning and variant calling.

Comment