Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bowtie parameters

I'm new in next generation sequencing, and I use Bowtie for the first time. Is there someone that know how to get only the sequences that only have one match? I tried this command.
    bowtie hg19 -q input.fastq -m 1 --best --strata --all -S bowtie_out. I also tried without the --all command but both gave equal numbers of hits.
    Thanks

Originally posted by khb View Post
    I'm new in next generation sequencing, and I use Bowtie for the first time. Is there someone that know how to get only the sequences that only have one match? I tried this command.
    bowtie hg19 -q input.fastq -m 1 --best --strata --all -S bowtie_out. I also tried without the --all command but both gave equal numbers of hits.
    Thanks
    IMO, all option only means all valid alignments ACCORDING TO YOUR CRITERIA. Since you set m option with 1, all option does nothing here. If you set m with 3, and without all option, reads with 2 alignments will only report one (k is 1 by default) alignment, if with all option, all alignments will be reported (2 alignments in this case).
    Last edited by xinwu; 12-16-2010, 01:33 AM.

Comment

So it will work without the m 1 command?

Comment

Indeed, -m 1 will remove all alignments with more than 1 valid alignment meaning --best --strata --all won't have any effect on the alignment results.

Comment

fkrueger is right. Other options make no sense since you set m option with 1.

Comment

Originally posted by khb View Post
            So it will work without the m 1 command?
            As you said, you want 'unique' alignment rather than all aliginment, just use m with 1 to achieve this goal.

Comment

So the conclusion is to use this parameters:
              bowtie hg19 -q input.fastq -m 1 -S bowtie_out
              but isn't this the same as