SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > General

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Postdoctoral Associate: Genomics of Cancer and Disease baylorrecruiter Academic/Non-Profit Jobs 0 12-15-2011 06:08 AM
Announcing Complete Genomics Cancer Grant Program scordes MGISEQ (FKA Complete Genomics) 1 08-02-2011 04:21 PM
Application of second-generation sequencing to cancer genomics. krobison Literature Watch 1 05-04-2010 07:13 AM
Cancer Genomics using Illumina GA apratap Bioinformatics 6 08-03-2009 08:58 AM
Looking for advice on european genomics ieuanclay Academic/Non-Profit Jobs 6 06-26-2009 06:24 AM

Old 12-21-2011, 05:55 AM   #1
Raquelle

Default Cancer Genomics Advice

Dear All,

I am a bit of a novice when it come to bioinformatics so please do no condemn my current ignorance. I am a first year PhD student currently researching human papillomavirus (HPV). I am interested in viral integration and how this leads to cancer. It has been suggested to me that the Cancer Genome Project and the Cancer Genome Atlas my be of interest to me. What I wish to do (although I am aware it may not be possible) is to access the currently sequenced cancer genomes and search them for integrated HPV. As the virus integrated randomly I would have to access and search the whole genome.
As I stated before I am a novice and I am not sure if what I am trying to achieve is even possible and I don't work with an bioinformaticians that I can call on. Therefore I was wondering if anyone reading this could give me some advice to firstly if this is possible and secondly how I could best achieve this.

Many thanks

Raquelle
Raquelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 08:35 AM   #2
henry.wood