SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Ion Torrent



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How many samples can I run on an AmpliSeq custom panel order? lethalfang Ion Torrent 1 01-15-2013 07:12 AM
CNV detector for panel of target gene? desmo Bioinformatics 0 12-06-2012 07:34 AM
AmpliSeq Cancer Panel SarahNGS Ion Torrent 10 10-01-2012 09:21 AM
FleXelect custom region enrichment kits Corskeagh Sample Prep / Library Generation 0 06-21-2012 06:46 AM
AmpliSeq vs TruSeq custom amplicon epistatic Ion Torrent 2 02-16-2012 02:18 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-09-2013, 10:23 PM   #1
lethalfang
Member
 
Location: San Francisco, CA

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 91
Question AmpliSeq custom panel, target region sizes

Hi,

I want to look at ~ 100 point mutations in AmpliSeq in those very specific locations.
When I submit target regions, can I just submit single base locations (actually region sizes of 2, because the system requires that the end position be *greater* than the start position)?

Some people say I should have region size ~ 100, but I don't see the point for submitting region size of ~100 when I'm interested in only one.

Thanks.
lethalfang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 07:52 AM   #2
foofer
Junior Member
 
Location: The space between your ears

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Hi Lethal Fang,
Intimidating user ID. I actually have the same question. I'm chasing it down. If I get the answer I'll post it. I do know that even if you submit the 2 base region Ampliseq will design appropriate length amplicons (mine were around 100bp). Still I'm not sure if this is the best way to submit single base mutations.
foofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 10:08 AM   #3
lethalfang
Member
 
Location: San Francisco, CA

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foofer View Post
Hi Lethal Fang,
Intimidating user ID. I actually have the same question. I'm chasing it down. If I get the answer I'll post it. I do know that even if you submit the 2 base region Ampliseq will design appropriate length amplicons (mine were around 100bp). Still I'm not sure if this is the best way to submit single base mutations.
I'm still not sure, either. But we ordered some anyway, and I'll see if the sequencing results are acceptable.
lethalfang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 08:26 AM   #4
Genomemirabilis
Junior Member
 
Location: Brazil

Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Default

You definetely need to specify the region. Im just not sure if its the best strategy to perform the analysis.

For 100 point mutations, Id look into qPCR unless you have a very small number of samples. With OpenArray plates the reagents costs would be a little bit higher than 20k for 1,000 samples (around $22 per sample).
Genomemirabilis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 11:26 AM   #5
Genomemirabilis
Junior Member
 
Location: Brazil

Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Im also considering these point mutations are spread between several genes and they are not rare somatic mutations which would require the depth of NGS.
Genomemirabilis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 06:45 PM   #6
foofer
Junior Member
 
Location: The space between your ears

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Entering in single base regions is fine for Ampliseq Designer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lethalfang View Post
I'm still not sure, either. But we ordered some anyway, and I'll see if the sequencing results are acceptable.
foofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 10:00 AM   #7
lethalfang
Member
 
Location: San Francisco, CA

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foofer View Post
Entering in single base regions is fine for Ampliseq Designer.
Yes, I can confirm that. We sequenced some regions when my design is only 2-base long (only because the Custom design requires that the end position be greater than the start position, so I submitted 2-bp region instead of 1-bp single positions).
The results look alright.
lethalfang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ampliseq custom, ampliseq customized

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO