Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• best unix environment for Bioinformatics?

Hi all,

I am new to bioinformatics and trying to get some of the packages I need installed. The environment I am using at the moment is cygwin and I am having trouble compiling BWA. The make command always comes up with an error like this:

$ make
    gcc -c -g -Wall -O2 -DHAVE_PTHREAD bwa.c -o bwa.o
    In file included from bwa.c:8:
    bntseq.h:32:18: zlib.h: No such file or directory
    In file included from bwa.c:8:
    bntseq.h:73: error: parse error before "fp_fa"
    Makefile:22: recipe for target `bwa.o' failed
    make: *** [bwa.o] Error 1

Also I obtained bowtie2, which is already compiled I think (no makefile), and it fails at line 69 every time regardless of the arguments provided.

$ bowtie2 -x index/lambda_virus -1 reads-1.fq -2 reads-2.fq
    /usr/bin/bowtie2-align: /usr/bin/bowtie2-align: cannot execute binary file
    Died at /usr/bin/bowtie2 line 69.

$ bowtie2 --help
    /usr/bin/bowtie2-align: /usr/bin/bowtie2-align: cannot execute binary file
    Died at /usr/bin/bowtie2 line 69.

So the question is: am I dumb or am I missing some package for Cygwin? Also, there is no reason for these to be mutually exclusive. I have heard that Cygwin is a pain in the neck for bioinformatics. Should I bite the bullet and install a full Linux OS?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
    Earl
    --Please take everything thing I say with a grain of salt, because, if grad school has taught me anything, it's that I'm an idiot--

Install zlib using the cygwin setup program for the BWA problem.
    You may have to edit the "DFLAGS" line in the makefile to this :
    DFLAGS= -DHAVE_PTHREAD -D_NO_SSE2 #-D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64

As for bowtie, check permission to execute program at "line 69".
    You might try compiling bowtie yourself.
    Often you can install Ubuntu as a second operating system and dual boot.