Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NGS data analysis

I have a NGS data of podophyllum, can somebody tell me how can I analyse my data and design possible pathway for phyllotoxin biosynthesis. I am totally new to NGS, so please answer me in details like what softwares I should use.

What kind of NGS data do you have? What do you estimate the genome coverage to be, based on the expected genome size? Is there a closely related genome available in the databases?

A project like this is not just about using "software". It will require some thought and a lot of work if you want to ultimately get anywhere close to the aim of "design possible pathway for phyllotoxin biosynthesis".

Comment

What was sequenced (DNA or RNA)? In either case, assembly (since it is 454 data, Newbler is a reasonable assembler choice) would probably be the first step.

Are there any known genes/protein in that pathway? Then you'd probably want to predict genes (if you have DNA sequences) or predict proteins (if you have RNA sequences) and perform functional annotation or compare to known sequences from known parts of that pathway or similar pathways. Software choices will dependent a lot on what kind of data and previous knowledge you have.

Comment

Originally posted by Soumi
        Actually I am new to NGS. I only know basic bioinformatics.One of my lab seniors performed 454 pyrosequencing of a P. hexandrum. Now my supervisor is asking me to perform bioinformatics study using that data. As I said I am new to this, I need help. I want to know how should I plan my work.