No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• basic questions about gene expression compassion

I am a newbie for NGS.
    I am doing rna-Seq. My aim is to compare gene expression between samples.
    Question 1: I did single end 50 bp sequencing for a bacterial strain. Each sample got ~10,000,000 reads. For most samples, ~10% reads are rRNA which I think it OK. But for several samples, ~66% reads are rRNA. It means only maximally ~3,400,000 reads are useful. Do you think if ~3,400,000 reads are acceptable or the number is too low?
    Question 2: Since different samples have different rRNA proportions, I cannot directly compare gene expression using the rest reads, right? How should I do normalization?
    Questions 3: I have tried my best to using same amount of cells, RNA, and cDNA during sample preparation and I got approximately same amount of reads between samples. But, it is still possible to get bias between samples. Should I do normalization against a housekeeping gene by assuming the housekeeping gene has the same expression between the samples?

I only work occasionally with prokaryotes, but here is my attempt to answer your questions.
    Don't have absolute trust in what I post.
    I do make mistakes.

Question 1.

Seems fine. 20,000,000 reads is sufficient for a human RNA-Seq experiment, so one would think over 3,000,000 reads would be sufficient for a bacteria. I do have a recent E. coli RNA-Seq experiment somewhere, but I'm too lazy to go look up the sequencing depth we used.

There is a way to verify if your coverage is sufficient. It's imperfect and requires a bit of work though. You could randomly select a lower number of reads, and verify if the correlation between the replicates decreases as you decrease the number of reads.