Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why is the base quality score so different between FastQC and FastX?

Dear Sequencing Community,

I am new to this so please be gently.

The ChIP-seq was done by a company on Illumina sequencer, ~ 60 Mb per sample, 4 samples, only 17% - 22 % could be mapped to the mouse genome. There is some known salmon sperm contamination, but there should still be enough reads for the sample.

I did some checks base quality scores using FastQC and was shocked:

http://www.freeimagehosting.net/t4wx8

But the comapany replied that FastQC does sample the first ~200.000 reads. I do know that this is done for e.g. base overrepresentation. I thought the base quality score is calculated from all the reads. .

So I checked with FastX from Galaxy:

http://www.freeimagehosting.net/713i5

Why do the base quality score outputs from FastQC and FastX differ so much? If FastQC only samples a fraction of the reads wouldn't it become useless for bigger runs?

Thanks for you help.
    Last edited by TheStudent; 06-05-2012, 02:10 AM.

Did you add the -Q 33 option to your fastx command? Illumina encoding changed from a -64 to a -33 encoding and fastx defaults to -64.
    Did FastQC make the right choice when it used 1.9 encoding? I've never seen it make a mistake like that however.

Comment

Originally posted by pbluescript View Post
      Did you add the -Q 33 option to your fastx command? Illumina encoding changed from a -64 to a -33 encoding and fastx defaults to -64.
      Did FastQC make the right choice when it used 1.9 encoding? I've never seen it make a mistake like that however.
      Doesn't seem like it, then they'd be skewed but not qualitatively different like they are. Look at the quality manually for a few reads - they should all have a bad quality at pos 20 if FastQC is right.