Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MiSeq Run with low Cluster PF Help

Hi Everyone I am newbie here and glad I found this wonderful and informative forum. I was wondering if some of you guys can help me out with my MiSeq run stats?

I am using the MiSeq v2 300cycle kits with a targeted sequencing pool of 5 libraries (generated by the Fluidigm Access Array system). I have diluted the pool to 8pM (apparently this gives optimum cluster density with fluidigm libs) and spiked in 5% 12.5pM PhiX. I am also using Fluidigms custom primers.

It is worth mentioning that the kits are out of date by 2 months which may be causing the errors (they were provided to us for free while we are awaiting for new kits to be delivered).

I put the run on 24hrs ago so it is nearing completion and I am getting the following stats:

Cluster density: 988+/-235, Cluster PF: 6.31+/-13.08, Phas/Prephas: 0.288/0.087, Reads: 21.56, Reads PF: 0.93, Q30: 90.8%

The cluster density seems to be just within the optimum range and the Q30 is quite nice but the PF is terrible and I am unsure of why this is the case? Could anyone help me with possible reasons?

Best solution in this case is to contact Illumina tech support. They can remotely look at your run and help diagnose.

That said 1000K may be over-clustered for V2 chemistry (especially if these are low nucleotide diversity samples).

Comment

I was thinking this, however, I don't believe Illumina provide support for runs that use kits which are out of date. I have noticed people quoting 800K for optimum v2 often for optimum results and 1000K is cutting it quite high.

Comment

I don't think that's over-clustered enough to produce that low of a % clusters PF. It could be an optics issue. Have a look at the tile images when the run is complete.

Comment

What percentage of your reads align to phiX? In cases of overclustering, that number is much lower than expected.

Comment