SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How would I go about calling BWA from a python script? prs321 Bioinformatics 7 07-07-2019 05:20 AM
python script modification of LSC0.2.4 ? arthur.yxt Bioinformatics 0 06-11-2013 01:32 PM
Error running oases_pipeline python script InesSoriguer Illumina/Solexa 4 05-21-2013 02:10 AM
gatk python script m_elena_bioinfo Bioinformatics 7 11-20-2011 06:40 AM
DEXSeq python script error message shilez Bioinformatics 4 09-08-2011 10:55 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-07-2015, 06:16 AM   #1
bvk
Member
 
Location: czech

Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 65
Default python error in cuffdiff script

I used this in command line:

cuffdiff -o diff_out4 -b ../genome/ce10.fa -p 2 -L larval,early -u merged_asm/merged.gtf ../tophat/em/SRR493359_60_61_thout/accepted_hits.bam ../tophat/em/SRR493363_64_65_thout/accepted_hits.bam

here SRR493359_60_61 is one group and SRR493363_64_65 is the other group. This worked for me.

Now I want to run this from a python script. So, I gave a call in this way.

do.call([cfg.tool_cmd("cuffdiff"), "-p", str(cfg.project["analysis"]["threads"]), "-b", str(cfg.project["genome"]["fasta"]), "-u", cfg.project["samples"][0]["files"]["merging_gtf"], "-L", str(cfg.project["phenotype"][0]), str(cfg.project["phenotype"][1]), "-o", output_folder] + [cfg.project["samples"][0]["files"]["bam"] cfg.project["samples"][1]["files"]["bam"]], cfg.project["analysis"]["log_file"])

here
str(cfg.project["phenotype"][0]) is larval
str(cfg.project["phenotype"][1]) is early

I get an error: invalid syntax. Can anyone please help in this. Thanks in Advance
bvk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 03:51 PM   #2
rflrob
Member
 
Location: Berkeley, CA

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 50
Default

It looks to me like you're perhaps missing a comma after cfg.project["samples"][0]["files"]["bam"]. As a general debugging strategy, when you have massive blocks of code like that, it's often easier to break it up into component parts, so those could be debugged individually. So something like:

Code:
base_options = [cfg.tool_cmd("cuffdiff"),
                        "-p", str(cfg.project["analysis"]),
                        "etc etc"]

files = [
    cfg.project["samples"][0]["files"]["bam"],
    cfg.project["samples"][1]["files"]["bam"],
    cfg.project["analysis"]["log_file"]
]

do.call(base_options + files)
rflrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 10:51 PM   #3
bvk
Member
 
Location: czech

Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rflrob View Post
It looks to me like you're perhaps missing a comma after cfg.project["samples"][0]["files"]["bam"]. As a general debugging strategy, when you have massive blocks of code like that, it's often easier to break it up into component parts, so those could be debugged individually. So something like:

Code:
base_options = [cfg.tool_cmd("cuffdiff"),
                        "-p", str(cfg.project["analysis"]),
                        "etc etc"]

files = [
    cfg.project["samples"][0]["files"]["bam"],
    cfg.project["samples"][1]["files"]["bam"],
    cfg.project["analysis"]["log_file"]
]

do.call(base_options + files)
Thanks for the reply. You may be right in one case. But I want to run this for groups.

cfg.project["samples"][0]["files"]["bam"] is group1
cfg.project["samples"][1]["files"]["bam"] is group2

so it should be group1 vs group2. So, the bam files should be separated with space. And If I run this with space its giving an error. Please tell me how to run this with space between the bam files.
bvk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 03:13 PM   #4
rflrob
Member
 
Location: Berkeley, CA

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 50
Default

I'm not familiar with this "do" module you seem to be using, but I'm pretty sure that passing a list is the equivalent of spaces on the command line. For instance, in the original cuffdiff call, it's not "cuffdiff, -o, diff_out4, ...". So you can see that the syntax in python isn't exactly the same as the command that gets generated. Thus, you really do want that comma there.

More generally, Python doesn't know how to combine the two variables if there's no comma between them. Depending on the type (which the syntax parser doesn't know in advance), you could want to concatenate them (if strings), multiply them (if they're numbers), or do something else entirely. Recall the Zen of Python: "In the face of ambiguity, refuse the temptation to guess." Since the syntax could be ambiguous, it instead throws a syntax error.
rflrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 05:14 AM   #5
brojee
Member
 
Location: Bhopal

Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 19
Default

I think you are have forgot to put a comma after cfg.project. Put the same and see of it work. If not, do let me know. I would be more than happy to help you out.

Thanks.
brojee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cufdiff, python, rnaseq

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO