Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FASTQC help

I'm not a java programmer so I need some help doing something I hope there's someone here who can assist!

According to the fastqc documentation, for calculating duplication levels it considers only the first 200,000 reads (to be memory efficient).... Memory is not an issue for me. I want a comprehensive output on my seq duplication level. Can anyone help me in modifying the module which does the above said task to accept and process all reads?

Reason: I want to compare the results to those from picard's ELC.

Warning: Is FASTQC open source? Can it be modified without permission? It's GPL v3 released so i think it can be modified openly

Thanks in advance!

Originally posted by arkal View Post
    I'm not a java programmer so I need some help doing something I hope there's someone here who can assist!

According to the fastqc documentation, for calculating duplication levels it considers only the first 200,000 reads (to be memory efficient).... Memory is not an issue for me. I want a comprehensive output on my seq duplication level. Can anyone help me in modifying the module which does the above said task to accept and process all reads?
    If you want to change this limit the value you need to change would be the line:

Code:
    private final int OBSERVATION_CUTOFF = 200000;
    ..in OverRepresentedSequences.java. Or you could just remove the check all together by deleting the later lines:

Code:
    if (uniqueSequenceCount == OBSERVATION_CUTOFF) {
      frozen = true;
    }
    You'll probably also need to change the default memory allocation in the launcher since you'll probably run out of memory in the 250MB allocation which is provided by default (edit the fastqc wrapper and increase the 250 to a much larger number).

Reason: I want to compare the results to those from picard's ELC.