No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Next Gen Sequencing Training Course

Hi everyone,

I am new to this great forum. Does anyone know a place who gives hands on training courses regarding next gen sequencing platform and downstream software analysis in US?

Thanks!

Jean

Not to quite answer your question, but the EBI in the UK have run a short read analysis course:

http://www.ebi.ac.uk/training/handso...090430_XF.html

I believe they have taken their courses to other countries in the past so many be amenable to doing so again if there was sufficient demand.

We also run a course on our site (also UK - sorry!) which covers the analysis of mapped reads using our software. All of our course material is available on our website for anyone else who wants to try it for themselves.

http://www.bioinformatics.bbsrc.ac.u...g.html#seqmonk

Comment

Thank you for replying

Too bad they are not in US! But I will definitely try it online. Thank you very much!

Jean

Comment

I saw this the other day:

Although it looks more in the bioinformatics side than on the 'pure' biologist side.

Comment

Thank you for replying

Thank you for the info.

Jean

Comment

This might be what you're looking for, although you'll have to wait until next time: http://meetings.cshl.edu/courses/c-seqtech09.shtml

Comment

That's exactly what I am looking for! Too bad I missed the deadline. I will try for this year anyway. Thank you very much!

Comment

This is blatant self-promotion, but our Core (UC Davis Bioinformatics Core, in the Genome Center on the Davis Campus) has taught a Next Gen sequencing applications course for two years now, in September. This year it was 5 days, with lectures in the mornings and hands on sessions on linux, Illumina / 454 assembly software, alignment tools, the UCSC Genome Browser, etc. in the afternoons. We're contemplating whether to continue the week-long format, or do several shorter classes, and would love comments on this.