SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > RNA Sequencing

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with smallRNA Truseq kit - Agilent results? Tali7 Illumina/Solexa 5 09-14-2011 10:04 AM
Experience with Illumina TruSeq kit for NGS hbn Illumina/Solexa 4 05-19-2011 07:27 PM
smallRNA v1.5 versus TruSEQ Fiji_surf Illumina/Solexa 0 05-02-2011 03:48 PM
Agilent SureSelect Human All Exon 50MB kit vs 38MB kit nimmi Sample Prep / Library Generation 3 11-30-2010 05:52 AM
Questions on Agilent SureSelect Indexing Kit if1 General 1 05-18-2010 06:32 AM

Old 08-01-2011, 11:40 PM   #1
Tali7

Default Help with smallRNA Truseq kit - Agilent results? (repost from Illumina forum)

Hi guys! I'm a newbie to this forum so please bear with me! I did ask in the Illumina forum yesterday but didn't get any replies, so I thought I'd ask the RNA experts..

I've prepared lots of Illumina libraries before (RADseq, RNAseq..) and am now doing miRNAseq using the TruSeq smallRNA kit, using total RNA input.

I've got to the pre-gel purification stage (post-PCR) and have run an aliquot on the Agilent Bioanalyser as encouraged to do by the protocol. However, the on-site Bioanalyser isn't new enough to use the suggested High Sensitivity DNA chips, and I had to use a normal DNA chip. So basically I didn't really know what I was looking for in my results graphs.

I do know that I am supposed to see a peak at ~145-160bp (the adapter-ligated miRNA size). And I do have small peaks in roughly that size region.

HOWEVER, I also have maaaassive peaks at ~270bp. I have no idea what this could be, and nobody I've spoken to knows either! I know it isn't contamination, because a sample that is effectively my -ve control (don't ask) didn't have any peaks. I'm just concerned that, as the peaks are so big, the adapters (although designed to ligate to miRNA) have also ligated to bigger RNA too, and so have also been amplified in PCR.