SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Sanger/Dye Terminator



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Custom dyes for fragment analysis on ABI 3730xl fisher7332 Sanger/Dye Terminator 1 09-12-2014 04:17 AM
Moving the ABI 3730xl Dynamac Sanger/Dye Terminator 0 10-24-2012 06:22 AM
ABI 3730xl data collection software 3.0 will not import plate gstarrett Sanger/Dye Terminator 2 06-14-2012 07:27 AM
Software advice needed regarding SNP calling Burger Bioinformatics 3 05-18-2012 06:24 AM
ABI Expands SOLiD Software Community ECO SOLiD 0 07-23-2008 10:08 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2015, 06:41 AM   #1
LindsayJY
Junior Member
 
Location: Chicago, IL

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Unhappy What software is ACTUALLY needed for ABI 3730xL

We are purchasing a 3730xL for my clinical lab and I feel like I'm not getting straight answers from the company about the software bundle we actually need to purchase. We use our current 3500xL in two ways: 1) perform fragment analysis, then open the .fsa files in GeneMapper and perform all analyses; 2) perform sequencing on the 3500xL, then open the .ab1 files in Mutation Surveyor to view electropherograms and do the complete analysis. We use no other software (besides the Data Collection software, obviously).

The company is trying to tell me that Sequence Analysis Software 6 (abbreviated to SEQA) is needed on the new 3730xL computer. But it sounds to me like it is simply a different option for analyzing sequencing files. We have NEVER opened SEQA. So my question is, is SEQA in fact needed for the instrument to run and collect data? Because if not, we're not going to pay 5k for it! We already have Mutation Surveyor on all the necessary computers.

Additionally, they are trying to tell me that GeneMapper MUST be on the 3730xL computer (version 5, while the rest of our computers use version 4.1), vaguely stating that Data Collection does not work without it. Again, I feel this is not correct, because as far as I can tell, GeneMapper is an ANALYSIS software for post-analysis of .fsa files. Additionally, this means we would need to purchase a full license for the 3730xL computer, and then several new client licenses to upgrade the lab PCs, because supposedly .fsa files created on the 3730xL cannot be opened in GeneMapper v4.1.

Perhaps I'm being paranoid, but I feel like neither SEQA nor GeneMapper is required to run 3730xL protocols, and they are simply trying to get us to spend more money. I'd appreciate any help. I am not a software expert by any means.
LindsayJY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 01:13 AM   #2
fisher7332
Junior Member
 
Location: California

Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Default

Hi,

I assume your new 3730xl computer was installed Data Collection 4.0, which is only compatible with Win 7.
SA6 and GM5 are only compatible with Win 7 as well.

If you don't installed these two software, you will not be able to create/set up sequencing analysis or fragment analysis(GeneMapper) plate in your DC 4.0.

You might choose WinXP installed DC 3.0, SA 5.3.1, and GM 4.0 as a alternative option, if your company does not require all computers to upgrade to Win 7. These software have no annual licence issue. You might find some vendors who can offer you this service other than LifeTech.
fisher7332 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3730xl, capillary electrophoresis, genemapper, seqa, software

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO