Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Preferred method for differential gene expression analysis?

Hi all,

So based on [1] I have implemented edgeR, except using the robust method of estimating the dispersion [2].

However having previously worked with non-parametric statistical methodology my attention has fallen on [3].

I am new to the whole NGS/RNASeq world and therefore it would be great to get some input reg. which method you prefer for differential gene expression analysis and why?

Cheers,
    Leon

1. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23975260
    2. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24753412
    3. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23981227

Review: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24020486
    Slightly related review: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22988256

Personally: I use cuffdiff, mainly because it works without a hazzle, is fast, and doesn't require much additional effort for the input.
    And I don't know R ^^.

Comment

Originally posted by bastianwur View Post
      Review: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24020486
      Slightly related review: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22988256

Personally: I use cuffdiff, mainly because it works without a hazzle, is fast, and doesn't require much additional effort for the input.
      And I don't know R ^^.
      Hi bastianwur,

Thanks for the references, it seems that the consensus is that no method is better than another, each having its unique strengths and weaknesses.

Which basically means that scientists are likely to choose the one they "like" for whatever reason, ease of use, prior experience etc... Not a very scientific approach imho...

Cheers,
      Leon

Comment

No offence btw. it's just frustrating not being able to get clear cut answer reg. which method is the better

Cheers,
        Leon

Comment

That's because there *is* no clear cut answer