Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EST library vs. RNA Seq

Hi! I am new to this site and new to next gen sequencing too. I am a postdoc at Arkansas State University, Jonesboro, AR. I am a plant molecular biologist working mostly with plants and getting into algae.

Does anyone know if there is any reference genome for algae? I will be working on a strain of algae that has very little info in the literature and no reference genome. I am interested in identifying and cloning genes in a particular pathway. I am trying to decide whether to generate a cDNA library or to do an RNA Seq. I am very familiar with the EST library approach but do not know much about RNA Seq. Almost everyone seems to think that RNA Seq is the way to go these days but will I able to find my genes of interest without a reference genome without going through a lot of trouble. Anyone has an opinion on this.

Thanks.

Originally posted by tteoh View Post
    Does anyone know if there is any reference genome for algae? I will be working on a strain of algae that has very little info in the literature and no reference genome.
    Red or green algae?
    See:
    Ensembl Plants is a genome-centric portal for plant species of scientific interest

One of each there. Unlikely to share enough sequence similarity with your species to be usable by standard mapping engines.

Originally posted by tteoh View Post
    I am interested in identifying and cloning genes in a particular pathway. I am trying to decide whether to generate a cDNA library or to do an RNA Seq. I am very familiar with the EST library approach but do not know much about RNA Seq. Almost everyone seems to think that RNA Seq is the way to go these days but will I able to find my genes of interest without a reference genome without going through a lot of trouble. Anyone has an opinion on this.

Thanks.