Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• query: obtaining SE and PE files from fastq

Hi all, I am a bit new to assembling stuff. Please spare me and answers even if my questions looks a bit silly.

I obtained an .SRA file ( 200bp PE Illumina reads ) from NCBI traces archive. Using sratoolkit it is converted to fastq format.

(fastq) It looks like this:

@SRR018008.1 307AEAAXX:4:1:1591:659 length=84
    GATTTTGAAGGCATATCTTGAAGATGGTGCAGCATCCGAGGTAAGAGACGGGTGAAGCATGGAGCAGAGCGTCAGCAGATGGTG
    +SRR018008.1 307AEAAXX:4:1:1591:659 length=84
    IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII?=IIII;IGBI,<:I8:2/5+8IIIIIIIIIIIIIIII:?ID,ID3I1<8C,4:6-.5-+)3(9
    @SRR018008.2 307AEAAXX:4:1:1593:693 length=84
    GAATTGGCAATCGTCCAATCGTCCAAACGTCCAGAGAGCCGCATAATTACCCGTCACGAATTTCTCTGCTTTGCAGCCGAGCAA
    +SRR018008.2 307AEAAXX:4:1:1593:693 length=84
    IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII;II-III0//IH0/;3726,9&5/57IIIIIIIIII,IIIIIBI8A>?)II:AI56;1910056$(%
    @SRR018008.3 307AEAAXX:4:1:1672:656 length=84
    GGTAGACTTAGTGAATGAACGAAGGGTATCAAAAGATGGAGTCTGCCACCGGCTCGCTGCTCACATCGGAGACCAGCCTGAGCA
    +SRR018008.3 307AEAAXX:4:1:1672:656 length=84
    IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIEII==IIIH?IIE25-I:G=+5/,IIIIIIIIIIBHI/I490B447-,0-6)90*-%+(('+%*'&

Now my questions are:

1.After conversion SRA-> fastq i obtained only 1 file with read length =84 as shown above. Is it a Single End read (SE) file? If so how can i convert a paired end (PE) file?

2. Is the length=84 present in the file is obtained due to trimming of the ends 100-(8+8) ? if not what does length=84 means?

3. This is bit unrelated to above content:
    what is the difference between
    a)./velveth sillyDirectory 21 -short data/test_reads.fa
    b)./velveth sillyDirectory 21 -short data/test_reads.fa -long data/test_long.fa

Please kindly help me understanding basic concepts. Would be grateful to your answer.