Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem about samtools sort and tview, Who can help me?

Hello everyboday, I am a newbie, my sam file size is about 45,786 kB, however after I use the samtools sort command, the .bai file produced is just only 1 kb, I wander it is right. In addition, after I use the samtools tview command, the result show a line N and nothing. I don't know where the problem is, who can help me?

Samtools sort will produce a sorted bam file and a .bam.bai file to go with it.

For example,
    samtools sort bam_unsorted.bam > myBam_sorted.bam

That will make: myBam_sorted.bam and myBam_sorted.bam.bai, and the .bam.bai file will be small.

Also consider if you want to sort by position or by name, many things require by name, especially when working with paired end data, you'd need to include the -n option in samtools sort for that.

Good luck.

Comment

Originally posted by aprice67 View Post
      Samtools sort will produce a sorted bam file and a .bam.bai file to go with it.

For example,
      samtools sort bam_unsorted.bam > myBam_sorted.bam

That will make: myBam_sorted.bam and myBam_sorted.bam.bai, and the .bam.bai file will be small.

Also consider if you want to sort by position or by name, many things require by name, especially when working with paired end data, you'd need to include the -n option in samtools sort for that.

Good luck.

To: aprice67
      thank you for your reply.
      Yes, I have soted my bam file, thne made samtools index and got bai file, the bai file is just 1kb.
      after then I use the command: samtools tview sorted.bam reference.fas
      the result is as following, while not be the sequence. so I don't which step is wrong.
      Attached Files

Comment

It is normal for the .bai file to be small (compared to the bam file). It only contains index values that indicate where particular regions (chromosomes in this case) start in the bam files.