Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• bowtie2 changing -k affects overall alignment rate - why?

Hello, and sorry if this question is in the wrong section of the forum or if the answer is obvious to all but me...

I am new to using bowtie2 (2.2.0), aligning ~ 300,000 single-end 454 cDNA reads to a de-novo transcriptome. I am finding that changing the value for -k results in a dramatic change in the overall alignment rate, but it is my understanding that the -k option should only change the number of alignments reported, and not the percentage of reads which have at least one valid alignment.

With all other options as default, and only changing the value for -k, I find the following:

without -k specified (default)
    22.69% of reads aligned exactly 1 time
    60.52% of reads aligned > 1 times
    83.20% overall alignment rate

-k 2
    22.23% of reads aligned exactly 1 time
    61.70% of reads aligned > 1 times
    83.92% overall alignment rate

-k 10
    22.02% of reads aligned exactly 1 time
    62.25% of reads aligned > 1 times
    84.26% overall alignment rate

-k 200
    22.02% of reads aligned exactly 1 time
    62.29% of reads aligned > 1 times
    84.31% overall alignment rate

Granted, this is a small change overall (a few tenths of a percent), but this becomes a bit more dramatic when I use the some settings recommended for RSEM (--very-sensitive --dpad 0 --gbar 99999999 --mp 1,1 --mp 1 --score-min L,0,-0.1) except that -k is varied

-k 2
    15.92% of reads aligned exactly 1 time
    24.93% of reads aligned > 1 times
    40.86% overall alignment rate

-k 10
    15.78% of reads aligned exactly 1 time
    28.06% of reads aligned > 1 times
    43.84% overall alignment rate

-k 200
    15.89% of reads aligned exactly 1 time
    30.25% of reads aligned > 1 times
    46.14% overall alignment rate

-k 1000
    15.89% of reads aligned exactly 1 time
    30.27% of reads aligned > 1 times