No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pathway analysis of Differentially expressed genes

Dear all,
    I am new to the field of RNA-seq analysis. I used Tophat and the Cufflinks/Cuffdiff to get the differentially expressed genes.I had two conditions a wild type and tumor. I wanted to now do the Pathway analysis and determine which genes are up and down regulated for the PI3K/AKT/mTor pathways in the tumor . What should be the approach from here?. Also , I have the cuff diff output but I was not sure which one of the files would I be using for the Pathway analysis.
    I am naive to this field and so I apologize for the basic nature of the questions?.
    Any help will be much appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Himanshu Sharma.

Hi Himanshu,
    We've done similar work ourselves.
    What we did was map each differentially-expressed gene onto their respective Enzyme Commission accession (EC). Doing so was quite helpful because as you know, KEGG uses KO and/or EC accessions in their pathways. KEGG also has mTOR signaling; you noted you're interested in that pathway.
    You could then use tools such as KeggAtlas, DAVID, Paice, SubPathwayMiner... just to name a few. These tools interface your dataset with KEGG pathways.
    If the tools above do not do what you're looking for, you may want to build your own custom solution via the KEGG web-service API... it's well documented and available for many popular programming languages.
    Hope this was helpful.
    Last edited by phoss; 04-16-2012, 05:07 PM.

Comment

Dear phoss,
      Thanks a lot for the reply . It is very helpful indeed. Although I wanted to know how did you map each DE to their Enzyme commission accession?. I know I need EC as it is compatible with KEGG and GO gives me Uniprot Id's. So what exactly did you use ?. It will be really greatful If you could give me some leads.
      Thanks,
      Himanshu Sharma.

Comment

Hi Himanshu,
        Glad it was helpful.