Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone ever attended NEB Molecular Biology Summer Workshop or similar?

I am a postdoc doing 100% computational biology in a big genomics research institute. I have zero hands-on wetlab experience.

More and more I think it would be good if I'd gain some wetlab experience. I have little interest or motivation to actually do much wet-lab experiments later in my career. There might be situations were it's good to be able to do it by myself when there is no wet-lab researcher free who would do experiments for me. But the main motivation is simply, I have difficulties following our team-internal discussions when it gets technical. Also, I feel unable right now to design new experiments to generate data which I can then analyze to answer my scientific questions.

"My" institute of course has wetlab facilities but there is no-one who could train me, as this would take away their work time.

One thing I found is this: Molecular Biology Summer Workshop by New England Biomedicine:

This is the default text for fallback 404 continue text

Has anyone here on SEQanswers attended this workshop? Is it any good?

Or, are you aware of similar (or even better) workshops? Does not need to be in the US as I am not located in the US anyway (I work in Japan).

If the NEB workshop is good and I decide to do it, I will need to convince my PI to shell out ~6000$ to let me attend it. Does anyone have an idea how to argue that it's worth it (i.e. that this particular course is better than others), or how to fund it?
    Last edited by Azazel; 02-07-2012, 03:15 AM. Reason: typos

If you would like to travel to Melbourne, Australia, there is a Recombinant DNA Techniques Course run by Micromon at Monash University: