No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trouble With Trim_Galore processing paired reads

Hello Everyone,

I am new to this, and have been havigjn soem trouble with trim galore. I think I've reached that point where I cannot see what is causing my error and I thought I would ask you for your colelctive input:

Here is my trim_galore command:
    ./trim_galore -a AGATCGGAAGAGC -t --paired /media/daveboBaggins/R2_001.fastq /media/daveboBaggins/R1_001.fastq

I get as an output:
    SUMMARISING RUN PARAMETERS
    ==========================
    Input filename: /media/daveboBaggins/R2_001.fastq
    Quality Phred score cutoff: 20
    Quality encoding type selected: ASCII+33
    Adapter sequence: 'AGATCGGAAGAGC'
    Maximum trimming error rate: 0.1 (default)
    Minimum required adapter overlap (stringency): 1 bp
    Minimum required sequence length for both reads before a sequence pair gets removed: 20 bp
    All sequences will be trimmed by 1 bp on their 3' end to avoid problems with invalid paired-end alignments with Bowtie 1

Writing final adapter and quality trimmed output to
    R2_001_trimmed.fq

>>> Now performing quality (cutoff 20) and adapter trimming in a single pass for the adapter sequence: 'AGATCGGAAGAGC' from file

I get the following error message:
    open3: exec of /home/daveboBaggins/cutadapt-1.2.1/cutadapt -f fastq -e 0.1 -q 20 -O 1 -a AGATCGGAAGAGC /media/daveboBaggins/7_R2_001.fastq failed at /home/daveboBaggins/trim_galore_zip/trim_galore line 453

I have gone back to line 453 which is as follows:
    open3 (\*WRITER, \*TRIM, \*ERROR, "$path_to_cutadapt -f fastq -e $error_rate -q $cutoff -O $stringency -a $adapter $filename") or die "Failed to launch Cutadapt: $!";

I have made sure I added the path to cutadapt in the perl code. But still cannot see what I am doing wrong? I have gone back and the pathway to cutadapt is in the $PATH variable. Any suggestions will be much appreciated

-Dave-Bo Baggins