No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Graphical softwares!

Hi,

I'm very new to the world of bioinformatics!
    One question that I have to ask, what is the difference between the bioinformatics softwares that you can use in a windows-like fashion and those that you have to know a bunch of commands on a black screen to run them?! is it the speed of processing?

Also, do you know any good softwares that are very user-friendly to do reference assembly and mapping? (Is CLC bio one of them?)

Many thanks!

I would say that the major difference -- if indeed there is one -- is that command-line oriented software is often easier to write and easier to make run on multiple computers. Thus the people creating the leading edge software, especially the free public-domain software, will write command-line based software.

If you read the forum you will find that what is 'good' software varies from person-to-person and from job-to-job. Obviously if you can not or are uncomfortable with command-line based software then you will need to run windows-like software even if such software may be not as up-to-date as the other software.

As for CLC-bio, they do have trial software that you can download. Give them a try and see if they are suitable for you.

Comment

I think the major barrier to writing a GUI is the cost/benefit ratio. Java makes it simple to write a GUI, but what does that GUI actually do for you?