No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• miRNA seq analysis - large numbers of non-aligning reads

Hello,

as part of my work I have been given the task of analyzing data from miRNA-seq. Such data was already preprocessed by a facility which did the first QC, adaptor and barcode trimming (it's made up by two pools) and given to me as a set of FASTA files.

As I'm quite inexperienced with sequencing (I come from the world of microarrays, and I started studying NGS just recently) I looked around (including these forums and wiki) to find a way to align the data properly.

Basing on what I read, I settled for bowtie. As I'm not doing any discovery, as reference I picked the human hairpin sequences from miRBase. Before alignment, I collapsed identical sequences using the fastx toolkit.

Now, when aligning, I get a lot of non-aligned reads. As an example, allowing one mismatch on one of the samples:

Code:
    bowtie Hs_miRBase_hairpin -f -n 1 -l 15 --best VB09121_Pool2/BarcodeCTTA.collapsed.fa -S Pool2_CTTA.sam
    # reads processed: 56581
    # reads with at least one reported alignment: 646 (1.14%)
    # reads that failed to align: 55935 (98.86%)
    Reported 646 alignments to 1 output stream(s)
    Going for no mismatches has even lower yields... As mentioned before (also due to inexperience) I'm not sure if it's what I should expect or not.
    Any pointers in what I should try / read would be appreciated. Thanks!

I forgot to add that I generated the reference with bowtie-build directly from the hairpin FASTA file downloaded from miRBase.

Comment

You might have to replace U in miRBase sequences to T and create the index and try again.
      How has the sequence library been prepared, may it contain sRNAs, snoRNAs or degradation products from rRNA/tRNA. Did you use the mature or stemloop sequences as mapping target?

Comment